Our team & board

Meet our team

Heather Saunderson

Heather’s experience has been varied and well rounded; having worked for numerous sectors, both commercial and not for profit, in New Zealand and abroad. Her professional work ranges from leading Law Societies for close on a decade in the States, to serving the Keep New Zealand Beautiful Society for nearly ten years.

Heather has a proven track record of success in managing complex business initiatives and achieving exceptional rather than expected results. She is a leader who possesses the capabilities and judgment for taking a business to its next level of success or resolving the deficiencies that impede its ability to grow and prosper.

Christine White
Education Director

Christine has over 15 years’ experience in the not for profit sector working for both large and small charitable organisations.  During this time she has been involved in organisational change projects and has utilised her science and mathematics background to contribute to scientific research projects. She is currently completing a Network Climate Action Course through Cornell University.

Anna Parkin
Marketing Director

Having studied Resource and Environmental Planning, and with a post-graduate in Museum Studies, Anna has always had a passion for protecting New Zealand’s unique environment.  She began her Marketing career in London, before heading home to develop her talent in the financial services industry as a sponsorship, communications, and brand expert. Anna spent a number of years working at a design agency dedicated to building authentic brands and high performing cultures inside purpose-led organisations.   She has a unique perspective having worked in, and for corporates, government, advertising agencies and the not-for-profit sector.

Jo Mulholland
Marketing Manager

Jo has over 10 years’ experience working in marketing and communications across the advertising, tourism, retail and not-for-profit sectors in New Zealand and abroad. With a Bachelor of Communications Studies from the Auckland University of Technology Jo is an expert in content creation, digital marketing and brand communications. Her diverse range of skills and experience supports the implementation of Keep Zealand Beautiful’s marketing strategy across all communication channels. Jo is passionate about the environment and is an advocate of living sustainably on her small lifestyle block with her young family in Auckland.

Mike Buddle
Communications Manager

Mike has over a decade of diverse marketing and communications experience in the not-for-profit sector. Originally from Southland, Mike has also worked in marketing roles across prominent retail and B2B organisations, bringing a varied skillset including media management, communications planning and content development with him to Keep New Zealand Beautiful. Drawn to the concept of kaitiakitanga – the relationship and guardianship between us and the world we live in – Mike is keen to connect with supporters, members and the public to help Keep New Zealand Beautiful.

Dr. Kat Whitehouse-Tedd
Education Manager – Eco Schools & Climate

Kat has worked in the field of conservation for over 20 years, specialising in anthrozoology and conservation education. With more than 50 peer-reviewed scientific publications, Kat has been involved in a diverse range of projects, ranging from evaluating zoo education programmes through to socio-ecological studies of predator-farmer interactions in southern Africa and Europe. Along with her expertise in research and environmental education, Kat is passionate about encouraging positive behavioural changes to minimise our respective environmental footprints.

Brian Ireland
Education Manager – YRE & Climate

Ko Taranaki te maunga. Ko Te Āti Awa tōku iwi. Ko Brian Ireland ahau. For over two decades Brian has been immersed in Aotearoa’s conservation education scene. Classroom teaching across a range of schools including kura kaupapa Māori was followed by kaiwhakahaere mātauranga positions at both Zealandia and Auckland Zoo where he created a number of innovative outreach and mātauranga Māori programmes. More recently Brian developed a Jobs for Nature conservation employment training programme in the Bay of Plenty and continues to work with a number of conservation groups across the motu. He believes strongly in the kaupapa of Keep New Zealand Beautiful, working with students of all ages to make a positive change to our environment. Ask Brian what is most important to him though and the answer is his tamawāhine and whanau.

Meet our board

Cr. Victoria Kaye-Simmons
Chairperson/Zone 3 Representative

Victoria has been the appointed Local Government Representative and Zone 3 Representative for Keep New Zealand Beautiful since 2015.

Currently a fourth term Councillor for the Horowhenua District, she is dedicated to her community and environment. Victoria chairs the Community Wellbeing Committee, Older Persons Forum, Keep Horowhenua Beautiful and Levin Budget Services.

As well as being an active member of the Horowhenua Lake Domain Board, Horowhenua Family Violence Intervention Services, Te WhareMahana Community Hub, Thompson House Executive, and Waitangi Day Committee (Muaupoko Tribal Authority).

Mandy Mayhem-Bullock
Deputy Chairperson/Zone 5 Representative

Born and raised in Dunedin, educated at both Otago and Victoria University, Mandy is an Events Coordinator, a Celebrant, MC and newly appointed Chair of Keep Dunedin Beautiful.

She is an elected member of the Waikouaiti Coast Community Board, Local Government New Zealand Community Board Executive Committee and Fire and Emergency New Zealand Local Advisory Committee. A positive person with a passion for our people Mandy is dedicated to advocating for the community and enhancing our cities for more accessible and beautiful shared spaces.

John Riddell
Zone 1 Representative

John is the Deputy Chairperson of Keep West Auckland Beautiful and is the immediate past Chair of Keep New Zealand Beautiful. John has a Graduate Diploma in Professional Practice Occupational Health and Safety, a Grad NZISM and works as a health and safety consultant.

He is registered on the national Hasanz Register for Health and Safety Professionals, is a Rotarian, Secretary of the Massey Birdwood Settlers Association, Treasurer of the Federation of Ratepayers NZ, a member of the local Community Organisation Grant Distribution Committee, is an Appointed Representative to the Benefit Review Committee, member of the Henderson McLaren Park Community Patrol and an active motorsport competitor.

Cr. Andrew Iles
Zone 2 Representative

Andrew is a Chairperson of the Projects and Services Committee and a member of the Policy Committee for Whakatane District Council.

He is also the Deputy Mayor of Whakatane District Council, Ward Member appointed to the Taneatua Community Board, Chair of Whakatane AMP Association, Whakatane District Council representative on the Ohiwa Harbour Implementation Forum, as well as the alternate representative to the Regional Transport Committee.

Andrew is on the Council appointees to the Whakatane District Sister Cities Association and member of the Conduct Review Panel.

Alexandra Davids
Zone 4 Representative

Alexandra currently serves as Chair of the Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board, Chairperson/Zone 4 Representative for Keep New Zealand Beautiful, Chairperson for Keep Christchurch Beautiful, Chairperson and Zone 5 Representative of the Community Board Executive Committee for Local Government New Zealand, Chairperson of Whitau School, Resource Management Act Commissioner for the Ministry for the Environment and Zone 5 Representative of the Young Elected Members Board for Local Government New Zealand.

Alexandra also works as an advocate for Women’s Refuge with the Battered Women’s Trust.