Beautiful Awards 2019 – Finalists Announced!

Beautiful Awards 2019

Congratulations to all of our 2019 Beautiful Awards Finalists!

Keep New Zealand Beautiful has revealed the finalists for the 2019 Beautiful Awards. The judges were impressed with the calibre of entries and it hasn’t been easy to determine the finalists.

There are six finalists across three location-based categories: Most Beautiful Small Town, Most Beautiful Large Town and Most Beautiful City.

Each finalist must demonstrate sustainable and environmentally conscious behaviours across four key areas: Litter Prevention and Waste Minimisation, Community Beautification, Recycling Projects and Sustainable Tourism.

The next stage in the judging process for towns and cities is the judge visits, where each finalist town or city will have the opportunity to showcase their wonderful part of New Zealand, and their sustainability efforts, to our judges; Michael Van De Elzen (Celebrity Chef) and Heather Saunderson (CEO – Keep New Zealand Beautiful).

The Beautiful Awards also celebrates the environmental excellence and positive actions taken by communities, businesses, schools, and individuals.

Congratulations to all of the finalists and good luck!

The Beautiful Awards winners will be announced at a Gala Dinner on Thursday 24 October at the Toitu Otago Settlers Museum in Dunedin. For ticketing information please click here.

2019 Finalists

Young Legend Award
Sarah Nicholls
E Wen Wong
Rosetta Brown

Tidy Kiwi Award
Nick Connop & Karen Lee
Kenny McCracken
Alan Pope

Community Environmental Initiative Award
Sea Walls Tairawhiti
Palmy’s Plastic Pollution Challenge

Proudly sponsored by:

Community Group Award
World Mission Society Church of God
For Our Real Clean Environment (FORCE)
Friends of the Waiwhetu

Sustainable Schools Award
Francis Douglas Memorial College, New Plymouth
Rangiruru Girls School, Christchurch
Salisbury School, Richmond

Proudly sponsored by:

Most Sustainable Business Award
The Rubbish Whisperer
Eastern Drycleaners

Most Sustainable Business Project Award
Remix Plastic project by Clever Green Limited

Best Loo Award
Colac Bay Toilet, Invercargill
Port Ohope Wharf Permaloo, Eastern Bay of Plenty
Spa Park, Taupo

Proudly sponsored by:

Best Street Award
Greytown Main Street, Wairarapa
Ridgway Street, Whanganui
Seymour Avenue, Nelson

Kiwi’s Choice Award
Ohakune Carrot Adventure Park
Otumuheke Hot Stream

Best Street and Kiwi’s Choice Awards, proudly sponsored by:

Most Beautiful Small Town
Hamner Springs

Most Beautiful Large Town

Most Beautiful City
Hutt City

Keep New Zealand Beautiful, a charity empowering young minds with invaluable environmental education, says they ...

Omoda Jaecoo, New Zealand’s newest car brand launched in Auckland last week, announcing a ...

Congratulations to Natasha Duncan-Sutherland of Māngere Bridge, Auckland, our March Tidy Kiwi Volunteer of ...

Iconic Kiwi charity Keep New Zealand Beautiful today announced its partnership with one of Aotearoa’...