Beautiful Awards 2021 winners

Our Beautiful Awards are New Zealand’s longest-running sustainability awards and provide a benchmark for environmental excellence. Run annually since 1972, the Awards inspire, recognise and acknowledge those individuals, schools, community groups, towns and cities working passionately to Keep New Zealand Beautiful.

Congratulations to the winners and recipients of the Beautiful Awards 2021

Towns & Cities

Most Beautiful Towns & Cities Supreme Award winner


Most Beautiful Large City
Proudly sponsored by Stand Desk


Most Beautiful Small City


Most Beautiful Large Town


Most Beautiful Small Town



Best Loo

Leith Place Toilet – Tokoroa

Best Street
Proudly sponsored by Resene

Mary Street – Thames

Kiwis’ Choice
Proudly sponsored by Resene

Queens Park – Invercargill


Community Group Award

Rotary Cambridge

Sustainable Schools
Proudly sponsored by Resene

Solway College – Masterton

Individual recipients

Tidy Kiwi
Proudly sponsored by Slingshot

David Williams – Otorohanga
Kumar Kumareswaran – Lower Hutt
Michelle Stronach-Marsh – Petone

Young Legend

Jemima Christie – Havelock North
Nora Quigley – Methven
Sophie Weenink – Nelson

Local Hero

Anna Petchell – Hamilton
Gary Mitchell – Wellington
Marshal Walia – Auckland