Beautiful Awards – Finalists Announced!

Congratulations to all of our Beautiful Awards Finalists!

Keep New Zealand Beautiful has revealed the finalists for the 2018 Beautiful Awards. The judges were blown away by the calibre of entries and it has been very tough to determine our finalists.

There are six finalists across our Towns and Cities category: Raglan and Waihi (Most Beautiful Small Town), Taupo and Timaru (Most Beautiful Large Town) and Dunedin and Hutt City (Most Beautiful City). This category is judged against four key criteria, looking at litter prevention/waste minimisation, community beautification, recycling projects and sustainable tourism.

The next stage in the judging process for towns and cities is the judge visits, where each finalist town or city will have the opportunity to showcase their wonderful part of New Zealand, and their sustainability efforts, to our very special judges; Sally Duggan (Editor – NZ House & Garden), Flox (renowned stencil artist) and Heather Saunderson (CEO – Keep New Zealand Beautiful).

We wish our finalists all the best with their judge visits!

It’s not only the towns and cities who have excelled; we have seen some outstanding submissions across all of our categories. From individuals who invest hours and hours of their own time to do the right thing for their local environment and community; through to community groups, schools and businesses who are leading the way in their own sustainability projects and endeavours!

Congratulations to all our finalists – you should be very proud of what you’ve achieved.

We will be celebrating all of our finalists, and winners, at the Beautiful Awards Gala Dinner, taking place on Friday 26 October, in Auckland. For ticketing information, please click here.


2018 Finalists

Young Legend Award
Amy Magyar
E Wen Wong
Rosetta Brown

Tidy Kiwi Award
Anita Goodman
Bryan Fairbairn
Charlotte Fisher

Community Environmental Initiative Award
Coast Care Bay of Plenty
Plastic Bag Free Raglan
Timona Park Orchard Trust

Proudly sponsored by:

Community Group Award
Eketahuna Chorus Building Project
Keep Waihi Beautiful
Plastic-Bag-Free Coromandel Town

Sustainable Schools Award
Dawson Primary School
Discovery School
Portland Kindergarten

Proudly sponsored by:

Most Sustainable Small Business Award
Pouch Products
The Falls Retreat
The Rubbish Whisperer

Most Sustainable Large Business Award
Road Metals
Waste Management

Most Sustainable Business Project Award
Ceres Organics
Vendella Ltd

Best Loo Award
Benneydale Public Toilet
Hot Water Beach Toilets
Te Mata Peak Park

Proudly sponsored by:

Best Street Award
Main Street, Gore
Queen Street, Richmond
Upper Trafalgar Street, Nelson

Kiwi’s Choice Award
Margaret Mahy Playground
Taumarunui Northern Entrance

Best Street and Kiwi’s Choice Awards, proudly sponsored by:

Most Beautiful Small Town

Most Beautiful Large Town

Most Beautiful City
Hutt City

Keep New Zealand Beautiful, a charity empowering young minds with invaluable environmental education, says they ...

Omoda Jaecoo, New Zealand’s newest car brand launched in Auckland last week, announcing a ...

Congratulations to Natasha Duncan-Sutherland of Māngere Bridge, Auckland, our March Tidy Kiwi Volunteer of ...

Iconic Kiwi charity Keep New Zealand Beautiful today announced its partnership with one of Aotearoa’...