Skip to content

Blue Flag

The Blue Flag is an internationally recognised and respected eco-label that is awarded annually to beaches, marinas and sustainable tourism boating operators which have met criteria in the following categories.

  1. Environmental Management
  2. Environmental Education
  3. Safety & Services
  4. Water Quality
  5. Social Responsibility

The Blue Flag programme protects our natural environment, the people who live in it, the communities who depend on it, the businesses who profit from it and the ecosystems which rely on it.

It was founded in 1987 and is run internationally by the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE), a non-profit organization based in Denmark. Today, there are currently over 4500 Blue Flags flying in 44 countries. New Zealand’s National Operator of the Blue Flag programme is Keep New Zealand Beautiful (KNZB).

Download our Blue Flag Prospectus here.

For enquiries or to order your Blue Flag Information Pack please contact

Are you an individual boat owner who is keen to support the Blue Flag Programme values? Sign the Individual Boat Owners Code Of Conduct to pledge your commitment to our marine environment! If you are a member of a Blue Flag accredited marina simply enquire at the marina office, or alternatively download the form, sign and send to Keep New Zealand Beautiful at

2018-2019 New Zealand Blue Flag Awards 





Scroll To Top